Time Zone


The time zone in Washington, D.C. is Eastern Standard Time (EST), which is Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) minus 5 hours.

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is observed from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November; this is sometimes referred to as Eastern Daylight Time, or EDT. During DST, Washington, D.C. is GMT minus 4 hours.