Key facts



Official Name: Republic of Sierra Leone
Capital City: Freetown
Type of Government: Constitutional democracy
Official Languages: English. Krio, Mende and Temne in use.
Area: 71,740 sq km/ 44,577 sq mi
Population: 5.5 million
Religion: Islam, Christianity, indigenous beliefs
Currency: Leone, Le
Number of Time Zones: 1
Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) plus 0 hrs.; Eastern Standard Time (EST) minus 5 hrs.
Weights and Measures: Metric
Country Domain: .sl
Country Tel Code: 232