Geography and history


The Falkland Islands are located in the south Atlantic Ocean, approximately 290 mi/460 km east of the coast of Argentina. There are two main islands, West Falkland and East Falkland, which are divided by Falkland Sound. East Falkland, where the capital, Stanley, is located, is the more populated of the two. The total land area is about 12,000 sq km/4,700 sq mi, approximately the size of the state of Connecticut.

Much of the Falklands have characteristics that can be associated with continental drift from Africa that took place over 400 million years ago. Coastlines have many inlets, and rugged mountains populate the northern and western regions of the territory.


Please login / register to read full article.